First blog

January 21, 2008 at 12:49 pm 5 comments

Sit back and relax with a glass of red (or champers or chardy if you prefer). Apologies to Sharon B for stealing her byline with a slight variation, I find a glass of red more conducive to relaxation than a cup of coffee.

This is my first blog entry and comes after 12 months of reading and commenting on others’ blogs (all good mind you). I was hesitant to start in case I didn’t have time to keep it up (4 children, work, study, housework, sport etc), but decided it was important to ME to find time to explore my creativity through textiles and that starting a blog to chronicle my explorations and, hopefully, progress would be an incentive to make time.

This weekend I started with a workshop with Dale of Thread Studio at the Victorian Embroiderer’s Guild Summer School at which I met some lovely and talented inspiring ladies, Dale included. Dale had us trying many different techniques to produce various fragments which could be used to create a piece of artwork. We all went away with pieces on which to further experiment and add layers to in whichever direction we chose.

fresco.jpgThis piece was a line drawing on tissue paper fused onto felt and distressed and decorated with tea, moonshadow mists, xpandaprint, embossing powder, foil, machine stitching, oil pastels, paintstiks. It was great fun!!!

And these little tags began life as india ink stamps on tissue paper fused to felt. They were distressed and painted and then sealed with clear embossing powder. I will punch eyelets into these and use on cords as dangles from a box or journal.tagsjan08.jpgCheers

Entry filed under: Summer school. Tags: .

PLOS Lesson 5

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine-Hockey Kitten  |  January 27, 2008 at 3:25 am

    These are so wonderful. I will have to give that a try. Did you use wool felt or kunin? Great job, I also love your PLOS work above. I really need to finish reading my lessons in PLOS.

    Reply
  • 2. carlseapatch  |  January 27, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Hi Christine, good to hear from you.
    The felt was just a square of acrylic from Spotlight, which is why it curled at the edges with the heat gun. I tried some with the kunin but only have the black which is more difficult to paint and distress.

    Reply
  • 3. sharon young  |  January 27, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Hi Jo-Ann
    So great to see your fist post, I’ve been so looking forward to you getting started. And what a lovely exciting start!! I love the arch pieces, so simple and yet obviously so much work gone into it, just my ‘cup of tea’
    Thanks for the comments on my posts, the shade colour of the wool is 1307 if that’s any help.

    Reply
  • 4. Gina  |  January 31, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Hi Jo-Anne
    Thanks for looking by my blog and congratulations on your first post! You get to 100 very quickly believe me! I love the little tags.
    Gina x

    Reply
  • 5. Mags  |  February 6, 2008 at 10:01 am

    I love what you did at the class with Dale.
    Thanks for leaving such a lovely comment on Digital Gran. I will try and get in some purple especially for you next time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Notebook Project


