Back to School

February 2, 2008 at 12:36 pm 3 comments

The children all returned to school this week after the long-g-g-g-g-g summer break. Lovely to have them home but lovely to see them go back.
Hopefully I can be more productive over the next couple of weeks before I start my Masters at Uni.
No textile work this week but a couple of other projects. altered-book-a.jpgFirstly, the altered book I’m working on with Daughter no 2 for Daughter no 1’s 18th birthday. Her birthday is on Thursday so it is a priority. I bought a board book at an Op Shop and we sanded and peeled off the plastic on the front cover. The best thing about this book is that it has niches inside where the jigsaws used to be so I’ll be able to utilize that to put in some interesting items. We have gessoed all the pages and painted the background on the front and back covers.altered-book-b.jpg
Also have been painting some outdoor furniture for our courtyard. The courtyard was formed about 5 years ago when we extended the house to fit in child number four. I have been waiting for the major works of removing concrete and laying paving to finish it off. I’m sure many of you know this feeling. ‘Patience is a virtue’.
Our house brickwork is a mixture of orange/sandy yellow and red. The colour scheme for the area is deep red and green for accessories so I have painted a table and chair red. The mahogany wood stain wasn’t quite dark enough so I got out my acrylic art paints and mixed up a wash. chair.jpgI have also spray painted an old wrought iron screen red which OH will screw to the wall to espallier a camellia. The garden colours are red/yellow/white/orange/purple/mauve and of course green. The paving will be sandstone crazy paving.
singer-booklet2.jpg
This is the cover of a booklet I picked up at the Op Shop for 20c (great source of all sorts of interesting stuff). It is in mint condition and is a very interesting read. If anyone has any idea I’d be interested in knowing how old it would be, there is no publication date but it is pre decimal currency.singer-book-title-page.jpg
I’m enjoying following along with all the TIF pieces, they are so varied and interesting. Just realized the other day that some cushions I made a couple of weeks ago are the exact colours of the January challenge. (for some reason this sentence has become the link to Sharon b’s site on the TIF challenge)cushions-tif.jpg Those colours are ones we have throughout our house, unlike the new February colours.
I’m still finding my way around the idiosyncrasies of this system. Any hints would be most welcome.
Cheers Jo-Anne

Entry filed under: Altered Book.

PLOS Lesson 5 Monet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MaryjoO  |  February 2, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    what fun cushions! Are they fabric, knitted, felted ….? they look so soft! Maryjo

    Reply
  • 2. sharon young  |  February 3, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Hi Jo-Anne
    I was delighted to see the Dorothy Benson book you showed on the blog. I thought it might be her work as soon as i saw it. She was one of the first free machine embroiderers to be employed by Singer as a promotional exercise. I went to an Emb. Guild meeting a couple of years ago and saw some of her work in the flesh, it was absolutely amazing considering the basic machines she used. I have a PC of a piece of her work dated 1930-40 so I should think your book fits into that period. a very lucky find 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Amelia  |  February 5, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    hi there,

    welcome to blog land! I was just wondering if you would be interested in joining ‘I op therefore I am’, Melbourne’s collaborative op shopping blog (you are clearly well qualified).

    http://melb-opshopping.blogspot.com/

    let me know if you are interested.

    regards, Amelia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Notebook Project


