Monet

February 6, 2008 at 11:45 am 1 comment

I am inspired to write an extra post this week (I have set myself the attainable target of one post a week) by Fibre fan’s blog. She did a very interesting weaving inspired by the Monet waterlilies for the January TIF and then shelved it.
This piece reminded me of some items I have inspired by Monet, I love the colours he uses. The first was from my ceramics phase and is a vase I painted monet-vase.jpg
The next is a lovely pastel drawn by an artist friend.waterlilies.jpg(I had to photograph it somewhere there was no reflection)
I am SO-O-O-O excited, I have arranged an ATC swap with Susan Lenz for cyberfyber. Check out what is happening on her site, there is an international swap happening later in the year as well, and lots of great invited exhibitors.
I will blog the ATC I am sending shortly, I’m just having some beads made up for a special series of ATC’s, one of which I will send to Susan and the others for the international swap.
Before I went to Summer School for a workshop with Dale Rollerson I made up this cute little fabric box to carry some of my bits & pieces.fabric-box.jpg
And the inside:inside-fabric-box.jpgIt is a lovely aussie print featuring Flannel flowers, waratahs, grevilleas and bottlebrushes(callistemons). The beads are from my fantastic local bead man (who is custom making the beads for my ATC’s – he says he loves a challenge). The pattern for the box is in this book:fabric-box-book1.jpg which I borrowed from our local branch of the Victorian Embroiderer’s Guild. I also borrow copies of Stitch as it becomes expensive to buy overseas magazines here in Oz.
Just to finish here are the lovely eucalyptus (gum tree) flowers my 7 year old picked for me.eucalyptus-flowers.jpg
Cheers

Entry filed under: cyberfyber.

Back to School ATC Trade

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. arlee  |  February 7, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Thanks for the blog comment :} The ATC tute was for/because of Suze, as i’m participating in the show too. Would like to see yours when done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Notebook Project


