Australasian Quilt Show

February 23, 2008 at 9:32 pm 3 comments

What a shame they have to cram so many people into so small a space. I attended the Australasian Quilt Show in Melbourne for the first time on Friday and I have to say I was very disappointed with the venue. It wasn’t even the weekend and it was so choc a bloc you could hardly move. After attending the Craft and Quilt shows at Jeff’s Shed (aka New Melbourne Exhibition Centre) which has a huge space I have to say I won’t go again unless it’s moved to a bigger venue. They had some big names but the seminar rooms were way too small and access in and out was very poor. However I did attend some seminars. Dale Rollerson did a great show and tell but wasn’t game to pass around her art peices as she’d had some go missing the day before. It was good to see her new Marrakesh work in the flesh and I bought some nice Oliver Twist perle cotton from her stall. Have to email off an order this week for the items she didn’t bring with her.
materials.jpg
I also bought, from the top, antique Japanese silk and cotton pack, silk hanky, some lace to paint/dye and a pack of silk fibres in a luscious colour. And the gorgeous braids below were irresistable. I can feel some bags coming along with these trims for pressies, I’ll have to check out the web for some freebie patterns.
braids.jpg
The other seminar I managed to get into was a booked one with Bernina, which I did to try out their new machine. (I’m checking out some machines before I buy a new one) At the seminar we made this cute as chicken, which has a zip at the back (with the tassel on) so you can place treasures/presents/easter eggs inside. We FME over the fabric, sewed on the face, beak and comb, then inserted the zip.chook.jpg The pattern is just a rectangle with one side twice as long as the other. (This one was 10 inches x 5 inches). This will be daughter No 2’s easter present, so now I just have to make 3 more!! One will be funky fabric, minus the chook bits for daughter No 1 and then there will be two boy style ones. Should have some appropriate fabric in my stash.
I forgot, in my rush to go out for dinner, to include Susan Lenz’s lovely, creative ATC which she sent from the US, in my last post. It is an embellished background with velvet leaves and beading. I intend to pop it into a little box frame above my work area as inspiration. Susan is working on a very interesting installation at the moment so do visit her blog or the Cyber Fyber site.susans-atc.jpg
Cheers

Entry filed under: Quilt fair.

ATC off to US Postcard in the post

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mags  |  February 24, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Sounds as if you had a good time. when I get a chance to go to the Knitting and Stitching show in London, I always go mad and buy lots from Dale too.

    Reply
  • 2. sharon young  |  February 24, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Hi Jo-Anne
    Super post!! sorry to hear you were disappointed with the show, i know what you mean though, I feel the same way about the K&S at Alexander Palace, it’s way too busy , so i shall go to the F of Q at the NEC this year , much more room.
    You are absolutley right to try out as many machines as poss before you buy, I’m doing the same.
    Great idea to dye the silk hankie, thanks for showing us that one.
    Thanks too for dropping by my blog and leaving your lovely comments.

    Reply
  • 3. Susan Shepard  |  February 25, 2008 at 3:59 am

    Very glad you got to go to the Melbourne bash but it’s too bad it was so terribly crowded. My goodness, seeing Dale R’s stuff in person must have been a treat. I’ve ordered things from her thread studio and have loved everything I’ve purchased.

    I am putting your name in the hat for the stash bundle drawing. Thanks for posting on my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Notebook Project


