Textile Group Workshop

April 17, 2008 at 9:23 am 2 comments

On Saturday Pauline, our textile group chief/organizer extraordinaire ran a textile workshop for our local Embroiderer’s Guild group. Needless to say all members of our fledgling textile group attended along with a few other interested members. Our brief was to bring an A4 piece of felt on which we had adhered some painted vliesofix, along with a variety of embellishments and sewing paraphernalia. When I got out my vliesofix I found it was a mess as it had detached itself from the paper and become scrunched up. I didn’t have time to go into town and buy some more so I used the piece of nappy liner I had previously painted here. I began this piece by adhering some newspaper I had brought home from summer school that had protected the table from oversprays. I added some extra paint and cut out various sized rectangles. I also added pieces of various textured papers and lutrador. Once that was all stuck I FME’d, attaching various threads and fibres. I also tried out the flower stitcher foot I had bought from Dale. As the most obvious piece of newsprint features a headline about global warming, I also stamped a few other pertinent words onto the background I’m thinking of calling this ‘News is all around” and adding a few more words here and there. I’m also finding it looks a little unbalanced at the moment with the blues dominating so I’ll keep fiddling with it. Any suggestions most welcome. If it becomes a reasonable piece I may cut it horizontally into 3 and mount it for display in our local guild exhibition later this year. Cheers

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

School Holiday Fun Textiles and Tennis

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susan shepard  |  April 18, 2008 at 1:13 am

    This is very nice. I’ll be interested to see it when you’re finished. I like the idea of cutting it into thirds for display.

    Reply
  • 2. sharon young  |  April 18, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Hi Jo-anne
    You’ve got some lovely textures going on here and the colour mix is great. I agree with you about the dominant blue, but I think it only needs a little bit to come through to the lower half to give it continuity. Your idea of adding more words will give it an extra textural dimension. Looking forward to seeing where it goes from here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Notebook Project


