Stash busting -almost

July 5, 2008 at 1:14 am 5 comments

I have begun the stitch along for Stitchin Fingers’ hand stitching group and also incorporated a little stash busting. I have a large collection of fleecy offcuts from making trackies and pJs for my four children. I have been wanting to utilize them as the base for textile-ish experiments, but had a sudden brainwave while lying down having a back operation from 8 year old daughter (we were playing doctors) to use some bits for the stitch along which began on July 1st. This will become the centre ‘A’ square for a blanket which I’m sure said daughter will love, as I plan to use quirky colours and shapes.

These are the ‘a’ stitches, algerian eye stitch and arrow stitch. I began drawing the squares for the algerian eyes and then decided to go for the free style approach. Claudia is busy working on her ATC’s and postcards for gifts (to family) and swaps and I’m hoping she’ll be able to incorporate these stitches also as I work through the list.

At our last textile group get-together we spent an hour or two chatting while winding up some bead in various materials. I used painted tyvek and various papers, some not so successfully. The thinner papers probably need to stay adhered to a straw (they are the mangled ones on the right!)

One of our members was very lateral thinking and made beads from all sorts of things, including bark from the paperbark tree. They were extremely effective. I also added to my stash as Pam brought along some vintage fabrics and embroidered collars to share, and Pauline gave us a goody bag of bits and pieces (she had Claudia in mind with some flower sequins).

The last photo is some more stash ‘adding’ kind of! I’m getting ready for the Embroiderer’s Guild of Victoria bi-annual conference starting this weekend. I’ll be having some fun at Kirry Toose’s Victorian Capelet workshop. Although I enjoy hand stitching and find it very therapeutic I also love machine work so it’ll be a great two days of playing on the machine. I chose my colours from some cushions in a Vogue Living magazine, teal dupion silk as the base colour and the aubergine for the lining. I anticipate we will be doing quite a bit of layering and embellishment, so I’ll be taking lots of beads, threads and fabric scraps. (quick visit to the bead shop in the morning methinks!).

Cheers

Entry filed under: Beading, Hand embroidery, stash, stitchin fingers, Textile Group.

Postal Excitement Busy, Busy again

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sharon young  |  July 5, 2008 at 3:02 am

    Hi Jo
    The colours that you’ve chosen for the EG meet are absolutely gorgeous, they’ll definitely work into something wonderful. I love that braid too, very unusual!
    You certainly do have an eye for the right stitch to go with the yarn and fabric, your blanket’s looking lovely.
    Thanks for the vote of confidence on my blog today 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Mermaid  |  July 5, 2008 at 6:10 am

    I’m sure your daughter will love the blanket too! It’s a wonderful idea and what a beautiful thing to treasure!

    Reply
  • 3. Doreen G  |  July 5, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I did a couple of workshops with Kirry Toose a few years ago and she is a good teacher–you will enjoy it.
    And a back operation from Claudia eh—I only get beauty treatment from Ebony-I end up with moisturiser in my hair and mascara all over my face–not a pretty sight but she thinks I am beautiful when it’s all finished.

    Reply
  • 4. shirleyannesherris  |  July 6, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    A good idea to create from scraps. I have lots of boxes and jars of scraps as I never throw ANYTHING away – just in case- but now have so much it takes up too much space. Must do something with it all. I use up thread bits and sheer bits by making new fabrics with them but it is the rest that is mounting.
    Cheers

    Reply
  • 5. susan shepard  |  July 9, 2008 at 2:10 am

    I need to get better at using up what I already have. I’m famous for buying first, checking later. Bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Notebook Project


