I love op shops

September 16, 2008 at 9:06 pm 2 comments

Op Shops are the most amazing treasure troves. I have just had a lovely, full of laughs girl’s tennis weekend in Apollo Bay and visited the lovely op shop there. Very well organised and many sewing treasures. I bought a medicine jar of interesting sequins, a large button for covering and the following books. The sewing book has wonderfully clear diagrams for all types of embroidery stitches and I bought the Inspirations for the stumpwork.

I showed a friend and she went over and bought the other Inspirations!
The large King size actil sheet was a great find for $2 in the Geelong West Op Shop in Pakington St. I will use this as a base for machine embroidery. This is the cleanest op shop I have ever been into (a lady washes everything before it goes out for sale) and raises money for McKillop Family Services. Unfortunately the friendly lady behind the counter told me it is closing as they will get more income from selling the property and investing the money. It is a shame as it is my favourite in Geelong. I also bought this cute woollen hand crocheted scarf, looks like it is brand new, somebody didn’t like it once it was made!!
Cheers
Jo
 
Entry filed under: Hand embroidery, Knitting/crochet, op shopping.

I’m Back and the Mighty Geelong Cats march on What a wonderful parcel!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sharon young  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Luck you, what great finds. I’ve got a favourite shop I go to when I go the dentist, it makes going almost bearable. BTW why do you call them Op shops, I’m sure the answer’s obvious but we call them charity shops in the UK.

    Reply
  • 2. paulahewitt  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:58 am

    I like op-shopping too – but its rare i find bargains anymore. I think they have caught onto what appeals – bags of broken jewelery and buttons etc are getting quite expensive now. I have been looking for doonas and blankets to use as quilt wadding – the other day they were trying to sell a 2nd hand doona for more than I could buy a new one in bigw!
    btw: op shop is short for opportunity shop – which is the same as a charity shop

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Notebook Project


