I’m Back and the Mighty Geelong Cats march on

September 16, 2008 at 8:04 am 2 comments

The Australian Rules footy finals have begun this weekend, and this year we naturally expect the Cats to go all the way again, so much so that my husband’s road trip with the boys has been planned so he returns in time for the Grand Final. There is a ballot for Grand Final tickets, which annoys many Geelong Footy club members who feel they should be guaranteed a ticket. We will put our two memberships in the draw and see how we go. Out of 30,000 members, the club is allocated about 12-13,000 tickets so there will be quite a few disappointed people around.

It is such a pleasure to type on the new imac, I’m loving it. I have set up the automatic backup, and it has heaps more oomph and memory than the laptop.

I will use this post to catch up on all the posts I’ve missed while having severe computer problems.

I’ve started knitting two scarves, one just an ordinary straight one, the other a cool pattern I found on Kitty, which has some fantastic free patterns. Although spring is sprung and today was a beautiful day, I am not fooled, we will still have some chilly weather ahead.

 

This post is going to take the format of Jackie French’s wonderful shortlisted Children’s Book Council Award book, The Shaggy Gully Times. Her book is based on a weekly country newspaper where the stories are written throughout the week until the published date. it contains some very funny word puns which the children I’m teaching find extremely amusing.

One week later and, the Cats have won their first final convincingly, they have a weekend off followed by the prelim next weekend. We have put our tickets in the ballot, so hopefully the cats will win and be into the Grand Final on ‘the last Saturday in September’.

A little bit later: have just been to the airport and waved daughter no. 1 off to Malaysia for her school trip (Year 12 Indonesian), her first trip overseas. I don’t know who was more excited, her or me, but I did put an order in for some batik fabric and perfume.

A final picture from the FME workshop with Mandy Ginsberg of the Victorian Embroiderer’s Guild. After some exercises and experimenting, we made little felt badges. This one is for Claudia to wear to Junior Embroidery Group.

Cheerio

Entry filed under: Embroiderer's Guild, FME, Knitting/crochet.

Trying again and again I love op shops

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doreen G  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I love the brooch you made for Claudia.
    I do hope the Cats do well for you in the finals although I won’t be barracking for them in fact I won’t even be able to sit and watch it because that is the weekend of our Guild exhibition.

    Reply
  • 2. sharon young  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:00 am

    So glad you love the imac, I knew you would 🙂
    What a lovely little badge for Claudia, it’s so pretty! Your scarf looks so cosy and a gorgeous colour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Notebook Project


