Beads, beads, beads

November 24, 2008 at 9:03 pm 3 comments

I’m full on into Year 12 graduation preparations. Firstly I’ve beaded on some black dupion silk for a wristlet drawstring bag for Carly. We surfed the net to find a bag shape that she liked and then I drafted a pattern using recycled paper and a coffee cup.

coffee-cupbag-pattern-basedrawsting-bag-pattern-1

When I went to Spotlight to buy the fabric there were three clearance bins full of packets of beads/findings etc. where I found lots of hematite beads to bead on the bag (as well as lots of other bargains-all $1- at the current exchange rate that’s 60c US). This is a small sample of the ones I bought.

beads-etcI grabbed 5 of the chains, they will make good handles for bags, a few packets of the beaded balls in different colours as well as some packets of beads for Claudia.

This is the beading on the bag, I’m trying to decide whether I’m finished or whether to do a few more seed beads inside the hearts. I’ve sewn the lining and I have a satin ribbon for a drawstring. I will do a picot bead edging around the top once it’s sewn together.

eAfter this I need to finish my capelet from the workshop I went to in July!! I’m going to wear it with a little black dress.

Cheers

Entry filed under: Beading.

one down, one to go Valedictory Dinner

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susan shepard  |  November 25, 2008 at 3:52 am

    This will be gorgeous! Dupioni silk is very nice to work with, too, at least I’ve enjoyed it. Nice feel and easy to stitch.

    Reply
  • 2. paulahewitt  |  November 25, 2008 at 7:17 am

    have fun sewing the bag – are you making a dress too?. good luck with schoolies – Is Carly going away? my husband (police) is working down the goldcoast this week at schoolies. apparently our children are never going 😉 …or maybe they can just drive down there in the paddy wagon with him.

    Reply
  • 3. MargB  |  November 26, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Looks lovely Jo Anne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Notebook Project


