ATC/Postcard swap complete

June 7, 2009 at 12:26 pm 1 comment

Just a quick post of the swaps we recently sent, now they have been received in Canberra and North Devon.

For Ebony from Claudia (Doreen emailed this scan for me, thanks Doreen)

ATC for Ebony from Claudia

Ebony made this gorgeous ATC for Claudia:

And for Val;

Val sent the most beautiful postcard and ATC for me and an ATC for Claudia shown here.

The theme for the swap was spring, and I had a piece of fabric on which I had originally painted four roses (for a spring swap last year with Susan!)

rose p:card:val:eThis is the one I worked on for Val as it fitted the postcard size best. It has some pink fibres and some leaf shapes from the scrap bits of painted fabric covered with chiffon scarf and FME’d. It is finished with hand stitching and beading.

I still have the other two roses and am trying to decide whether to cut into ATC size for the Creative fibre arts group swap, or keep them whole and finish as quilties. These two have fragments of silk paper added, then FME over a chiffon scarf (I have a great collection of these scarves from the Op shop).

roses:eProgress on the casalguido:

casalguido weaving started:e

 

casalguido weaving started:croppedI think the casalguido stitch is ideal for the tree, great texture. The thread for the stem stitch over the top is cotton a broder, between a pearl 8 and 12 in thickness. Hopefully I’ll finish this off today and add some needlewoven leaves. 

My sampler is a bit haphazard, unlike Sharon’s fantastic examples!!

I’m hoping to try out some of the needlewoven stitches from Effie’s book (which I have borrowed from the library, but like so much I’ve ordered it from Boomerang Books) in the space next to the tree.

effie needlweaving:eCheers

Off to stitch!

Entry filed under: ATC's, Creative F'Arts, FME, Hand embroidery, op shopping, Postcards, Stitch Explorer, Uncategorized.

Slow and Steady Progress- of sorts

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. andrea  |  June 8, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Hi jo,
    I love linen-embroidery, (I don’t have enough patience for it) and this tree here is beatiful and intrigiuing. The relief of this special stitch is very special. I enjoyed visiting your blog:)
    have a good day
    love
    Andrea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Notebook Project


