Progress- of sorts

June 18, 2009 at 11:34 am 2 comments

Firstly, I have been playing with paperclay and have made my first sea angel head. This is for a Christmas exhibition at the Johnston Collection, a collaboration of all the arty groups in Geelong. I began with a foil base on galvanised wire:

foiled headsFollowing a tutorial here, I added the paperclay, beginning with a basic shape and then adding the details. This was great fun and Claudia joined in, making a Little Miss figure.

As you can see I have not yet added the ears, I’m wondering if they are necessary as she will have long hair. The pictures of ship’s figureheads which I have are the inspiration for the sea angels, and they all have ears so I had better add them. She is not quite symmetrical, but I plan to paint her in colours of the deep (a la Maggie Grey), not realistically, so I think she will look fine. Most people have slightly wonky faces anyway!! I have another to do as yet.

paperclay headHere are my ‘killed catalogues‘ in progress.

This one I plan to embellish with gum tree type features; leaves, gum nuts etc.

gum tree stump:progressThis has a combination of quink, moonshadow mists, starburst stains and shimmering mists sprayed.

The next one I embedded some gauze and lace fabric in the gesso, then painted the same as the one above.

A in W progressI was inspired by Heather’s fantastic chessmen and the gap in the middle for this one. It will be based on Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass and have text and WSP heads. A friend has a concrete statue of Alice just the right size, so I hope to  borrow it to do a paper cast.

Next month at the Creative Fibre arts group we will be playing with water soluble paper and paper clay so hopefully I’ll have all these finished to show.

Cheers

Entry filed under: Johnston Collection, killed catalogues, Native plants, paperclay.

ATC/Postcard swap complete Time Goes By (not slowly)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doreen G  |  June 18, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Love the face Jo and the killed catalogues are great.

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl  |  June 30, 2009 at 11:20 am

    The face is wonderful. I haven’t gotten up the nerve to put a catalog out yet, but yours inspire me – I guess I’m going to have to find a place for one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Notebook Project


