Darling Harbour and The Rocks

July 20, 2009 at 12:34 pm 3 comments

After the Powerhouse Museum I walked across to Darling Harbour, which was buzzing, with people everywhere as it was school holidays in NSW.

Feeling the need for some centering and contemplation (and food) I went to the Chinese Friendship Garden first. This garden is just beautiful and a wonderful place of tranquility in the midst of such a busy city. I again took loads of photos which will be of interest to the Holey Moleys.

Lots of holey windows

Chinese garden window 1

Chinese garden window 2Some beautiful vistas including holes:

Chinese garden vista

Chinese garden bridgeAfter a lovely lunch in the tearooms I walked on to the Harbourside shopping centre. Nothing very exciting there (one shopping centre is pretty much the same as another) until I came across this wonderful Baboushka shop full of Russian Baboushka dolls of every size and variety.

Babushka shopThe old lady figure sitting in the doorway reminds me of Mags adventures in sculpture.

I then followed the foreshore walking path to The Rocks, passing some amazing buildings, some of which are literally built on the rocks.

 

 

Historic building 1

historic building 2Rather than walking all the way around to Sydney Harbour Bridge I took a ‘short cut’ up the rocks (about 150 steps) to Observatory Park, the site of the Historic Sydney Observatory. From this wonderful vantage point I took these photos (again lots of holes/apertures for the Holey Moleys.

View from Observatory HillThe lovely Moreton Bay fig:

Moreton Bay fig 1And of course the Sydney Harbour Bridge:

Sydney Harbour Bridge 2

Sydney harbour bridge 1In The Rocks itself there is of course plenty to see in terms of history and historical buildings, shopping, and galleries. I’ll just mention a couple. After a lovely moccha coffee and friand I came across a sensational button shop stocking all manner of vintage and new buttons. I just bought a few little green leaves and a gorgeous little pocket watch button.

buttons the rocks

My next wonderful stop was the Museum of Contemporary Art which had some amazing exhibitions currently showing. The first was documentary photographer, Ricky Maynard. Very much a thought provoking exhibition. I managed to get one photo of some wise words from Ricky Maynard painted on the wall of the gallery.

Ricky Maynard ExhibitionAs some of the photos were of indigenous people who have died, it is not appropriate for me to display them here on the blog.

The second exhibition was of the Moving Image art form, a series of rooms displaying moving images sometimes simultaneously on 5 or 6 large screens. This exhibition was a collaboration with the MCA, San Diego, California. I would love to show it to my youngest son who is very much into movie making.

I’ll be back to textile art next weekend.

Cheers

 

 

Entry filed under: Artists, Buttons, Holey Moley, Moving Image Art, Photography, Sydney.

Information Overload Rottnest Island

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doreen G  |  July 20, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Great photos Jo—-Yeehh I got our footy tickets. :~}

    Reply
  • 2. sharonb  |  July 20, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    I was wandering about the rocks area too – and I went to the button shop too – but did not buy anything as
    1 I am on a fiber diet (reducing it that is)
    2 I felt it was a dash expensive
    3 I really have plenty already
    but it was nice browsing!

    Reply
  • 3. Heather Martin  |  July 29, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Yippee! I found you at last. Thanks for the tip – it worked. The mysteries of the computer certainly keep you guessing don’t they?Glad you like the tutorial and have a great time at the show. The photos on this post are fantastic. Your country looks to be such an interesting and beautiful place. At present I’m reading Bill Bryson’s Down Under and thoroughly enjoying it. He loves Australia, having been there many times now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Notebook Project


