Monthly catch up

July 26, 2010 at 3:41 pm 6 comments

Although I haven’t blogged in quite a while here, I have been busy creating, so this will be my monthly round up.

Our monthly meetings from the Creative Arts Group are blogged here.

Here is a picture of the felted berets Claudia and I made at the July meeting (more pics on the blog)

And I have finally finished my Wild Woman Brooch from our April meeting:

I have also been busy sewing.

Most of the materials for this tunic dress came from Joy’s Warehouse, a discount fabric shop in Geelong:

This close up shows the gorgeous buttons bought from the Button Lady at last years Geelong Fibre Forum:

I also made some comfy jeans but you will have to make do with the pattern as they are in the wash:

I am going to make more from this pattern. The pair I have made were from stretch black denim purchased from Tessuti and have white topstitching.

Last Monday we had a fantastic workshop at the Guild with Lisa Walton doing ‘Creative Bead Embroidery’. Lisa was a great tutor and it was my idea of heaven to spend a whole day stitching beads. Thanks for all the great techniques and your wonderful patience Lisa!!

This is my piece in progress. Firstly a top shot and then side on to show the wonderful three dimensional beading techniques:

Finally, some pieces from The Melbourne Craft and Quilt fair on the weekend where I spent all morning in The Felt Studio of Wendy Bailye creating a nuno felted scarf on paj silk and felted silk lily brooch:

And my purchases: a ball of sock wool (Claudia and I may fight over this pair of socks), some gorgeous beads and Swarovski crystals for a necklace, a reversible wrap around skirt pattern and a kit for beaded elves for Claudia to make and give her friends:

After dithering about and fluctuating between feeling guilty as a mother because it is on in the school holidays and REALLY wanting to do Mary Crehan’s workshop at the Geelong Fibre Arts I have finally made the decision and enrolled. I will have time to organise some places for Claudia to stay and son number 1 is now more independent having got his licence. I have also signed up for Glenys’ ‘Artist Notebook Project’ which will be a great way for me to focus on journaling my inspirations for future and present projects. Go to the link to sign up.

Cheers

Jo

Entry filed under: Beading, Buttons, Embroiderer's Guild, Felting, Quilt fair, sewing, Textile Group, Workshops.

Playing with silk A time for reflection

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Doreen G  |  July 27, 2010 at 1:50 am

    Well don’t you two look spiffy in your berets-very nice.
    I had the felt workshop marked dow as one for me to do when the craft show is in Canberra in a couple of weeks–love the scarf.

    Reply
  • 2. sharon young  |  July 29, 2010 at 6:07 am

    Wow! all that in a month, you have been busy. I love the berets and the Nuno scarf, in fact I love all your projects, you certainly do get to some great work shops.
    Hope you enjoy the next one.

    Reply
  • 3. Linda Stokes  |  August 13, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Great stuff Jo! Love your felting – berets are gorgeous.

    Reply
  • 4. Mags  |  August 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Lovely berets Jo and of course that lovely scarf and lily. I have been wondering if I could make a beret using my embellisher !

    Reply
  • 5. Heather Martin  |  August 25, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    You’ve been so busy and don’t waste time do you? I love everything in this post – the beading looks great fun. Enjoy your workshops and don’t feel guilty – I’m sure your offspring wont begrudge a day off here and there.

    Reply
  • 6. Lorraine  |  September 18, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Thanks so much for visiting and taking the time to comment on my blog. Am loving everything I see here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Notebook Project


