Stumpwork: Progress and Design

November 5, 2011 at 10:31 pm 3 comments

Currently I am completing pieces and a folio for the Intermediate Certificate in Stumpwork with the Embroiderer’s Guild.

Our class was taught by the ever enthusiastic master craftswoman, Alison Cole.

We need to complete two minor pieces of stumpwork and one major piece. I have completed a stumpwork Coneflower which I designed to cover an antique brass based pincushion inherited from my grandmother.

Design sketches

My second piece is a beetle mounted onto a teeny circular box.

Design sketches

The major piece is inspired by Art Deco and is a monogram style design to fit a jarrah box:

Design sketch

Entry filed under: Embroiderer's Guild, Embroidery, Hand embroidery, Raised embroidery, stumpwork. Tags: .

Roadtrip SA Dyeing to use these fabrics

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deeferdg@bigpond.net.au  |  November 6, 2011 at 12:13 am

    I love the design for your major piece Jo.

    Reply
  • 2. Sue McB  |  November 6, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Well done – they results will be lovely I’m sure, and I look forward to seeing them. I admire your dedication doing an Intermediate in Stumpwork….not my scene I think, but I might be doing a Canvas Work one next year, and that will complete my three. Cheers.

    Reply
  • 3. maggi21  |  November 7, 2011 at 8:16 am

    It’s really interesting seeing the design work. Look forward to seeing the completed pieces

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Notebook Project


